The 2021 Adrian Hardiman Moot Competition

26 July 2021

The final of the Bar of Ireland’s Adrian Hardiman Memorial Moot Competition took place in a socially distanced manner in the Supreme Court on Thursday, 23rd July 2021.

In a highly competitive final, the team made up of Martin Scanlon BL and Karl Shirran BL were the narrow victors over the team of Céile Varley BL and Cillian Bracken BL.  

The panel of judges made up of the Chief Justice, Mr. Justice Frank Clarke, Ms. Justice Iseult O’Malley and Ms. Justice Marie Baker congratulated both teams on the high standard of advocacy on display.  The judges also complimented April Duff BL, who wrote a challenging and innovative Moot question.

The Moot takes place annually over four rounds and is open to members of the Bar of Ireland in Years 1 – 5 at the Bar.  The winning team receive the Adrian Hardiman Perpetual Trophy and also will receive their Law Library subscription fees for next year.